Jane’s Review ~ The Scars of Us by Nikki Narvaez

Kaiya Marlow is scarred by her past, living with her brother Kamden she just exists not really living her life. She can’t do relationships and has a set of rules when it comes to sex. She decides to take up self-defence at the local gym, her trainer is Ryker Cambell and he also doesn’t do relationships and has a string of one night stands. They are attracted to each other and she feels safe with Ryker but is it enough to overcome her past and trust him.

This is a very emotional read and covers a very sensitive subject, I found it a little hard to read at times because of this. So it did take me a while to read because I had to take myself out of the situation when I found myself getting too upset. There are a few twists that will shock you but I found that by the time I had finished it, it all made sense in a weird way.

There is quite a lot information and details about self-defense and this is where I kind of lost interest in the book but after finishing it and looking back I feel it was quite relevant to the story and for the trust and chemistry to develop between the two characters. I was pulled back in again and with an explosive ending with no cliffhanger.  It certainly redeemed its self and I now find myself eating my own words.

I really liked the characters, Kamden because he wants to protect his sister and the  guilt he carries around with him, I feel for Kaiya so much and her living in terror and  trying to cope can be heartbreaking at times. Finally Ryker is tattooed, pierced and has a body to make you weak at the knees so what’s not to like?! He is also a really nice guy.

The sex scenes are smoking hot, well written and don’t disappoint.

The author has done a fantastic job of capturing the emotions of the character and especially Kaiya’s distressed childhood and that having followed her through to adulthood.

5 stars for Amazon & 4.5 stars for Goodreads

I received a copy from the author in exchange for honest review

~Jane~

scar

Leave a Reply

