Jane’s Review ~ Toxic Secrets (Secrets #1) by Jill Patten

Courtney always thought she would marry her high school sweetheart Philip and be happy for evermore but when she finds out that he has been cheating on her she ends the relationship. Philip then makes her life a misery and just causes problems with her. Courtney struggles with her everyday life and feels the whole school is against her apart from her best friend Kendra and her boyfriend Reed.

Reed’s cousin Jaxon comes into town to visit and Kendra tries to set them up on a blind date. When Jaxon sets his eyes on Courtney she reminds him of someone from his past and he is instantly drawn towards her.  Jaxon has a tormented past and at some points seems to have struggled with life.

This has to be the most angsty book that I have ever read and it certainly kept me on my toes the entire length of it.  I was well warned by lots of people including the author that it has a cliffhanger ending but TBH I didn’t find it too bad this is maybe because I was expecting it to happen and I thought it would be a lot worse than what it was.

I just have to say that I hate Philip with a passion and his mother isn’t much better either, I want to hunt that boy down! I really felt for Courtney and felt the author captured her personality really well because of the circumstances around her. I just want Courtney to be happy and to get the courage to stand up for herself.

I keep thinking back to Philip and the things he does makes my blood boil I think he must be the most hated character I have ever read about and I really hope karma get that SOB.

I really liked Jaxon , he is very troubled and I want to know what is in his past that he is hiding and I am sure we will find out in due course.

It did take me a few chapters to get into but more so because of the angst but once I settled into the book I really enjoyed it. I also thought for the authors first book this is a brilliantly written book and I have high expectations from the next books she writes.

There is so many questions that still need answered and can predict the next book will explosive.

5 stars for Amazon & 5 stars for Goodreads

I received a copy from the author in exchange for an honest review

~Jane~

18341284

UK link:  http://www.amazon.co.uk/Toxic-Secrets-Jill-Patten-ebook/dp/B00FR6SGOY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1392027684&sr=8-1&keywords=toxic+secrets

US link:  http://www.amazon.com/Toxic-Secrets-Jill-Patten-ebook/dp/B00FR6SGOY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1392027698&sr=8-1&keywords=toxic+secrets

Goodreads link:  https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18341284-toxic-secrets?from_search=true

Leave a Reply

